What year is my SC17 ? And hull repair issue

General Sailing Discussion
mboyer68
Novice
Boat Make/Model: Supercat 17

What year is my SC17 ? And hull repair issue

Post by mboyer68 »

Hello all, new user here. I've been sailing since around 1975 and was heavy into windsurfing in the 90's. Just sold my H18 and am finally getting my SC17 seaworthy. Needs a hull repair and some general tlc.
Boats with no motor do not get registrations in NYS so it didn't come with any ID. And the trailer is registered as a home built so no help there.
The hull #'s are as follows:
Left ::FMSBO188 M81L-17P185
Right:FMSBO188 M81L17S184
I fell in love with the Supercat shape and look when a friend's father bought one in the early 80's on Keuka Lake, finger lakes region NY. He had a 19 I think, it had daggerboards..was named "Moonraker" after the James Bond movie. We'd water ski behind it!
Back to my SC17, the main sail has 188 on it. The 188 on the hull numbers is hand etched. It has Boston Whaler stickers on the hulls. Sails are made by Gulfstream Sail Makers. Any idea what year it is?
The hull repair is complicated, to me it is! If you're trapped out and straddling the left mast stay the soft spot is right where your right foot would be. Right where the forces all come together if I understand Bill's force vector description from a post on this forum. Where the hulls are joined, patch will go from where there's no red foam core up to where the white glue strip is, about 6" wide, 4" tall. I think I'm going to lay some glass underneath and build up a couple more layers where there's no core..trying to get that patch to make the hole smaller, then glass from the outside to close it up, then gel coat, then apply non skid. Please reply if there's a better way to do this. This is my first fiberglass repair. I have some experience with other body work and painting.
Thank you in advance for any advice :-)
Mike
Western NY
Sailing at:
Lake Ontario
Keuka Lake
Matt Haberman
Administrator