Upper wind limit for S20

Technical discussion of ARC products
GeneHacker
Hot Shot
Boat Make/Model: SuperCat 20

Upper wind limit for S20

Post by GeneHacker »

I just got a SC20 that I am getting ready for the water. I have been sailing a H18 for a few years on our very windy local lake (Lake Isabella...better known to kiteboarders and windsurfers than sailors). We have had good luck putting smaller sails up (like using H16 sails on a H18).

I am wondering about peoples experience in heavy air with the SC20.

Curious...how much is too much?

Any modifications recommended for heavy air?

I was thinking a SC17 sail might fit the bill for a permanently reefed main. Any feedback on this idea?
Kevin Keller
Professional
Boat Make/Model: SC-20, ARC22

Re: Upper wind limit for S20

Post by Kevin Keller »

Can't remember if you have a TR or standard rig. From what I understand the standard rig is best in about 15 knots. The TR is for lighter winds.

I take my standard rig SC20 out in 10 to 25 knots winds and have a blast. You need to be trapping above 15. I think 10 you can hike and be ok.

Kevin
havliii
Professional
Boat Make/Model: SuperCat 19, Modded SC20

Post by havliii »

Consider swapping the whole rig mast and sails for the blasting conditions on the lake. No need to have the big stick up in the conditions that you previously described. Keep the big rig for the lighter air that you find in other locations. I would not go with a SC19 sail (too much roach for gusty conditions) possibly find a used SC20 main that you could cut panels off of or just hoist the H18 main with a wire extender on it. (see tips from mat h. on how to do this)

Congrats on the purchase, you'll love the SC20. I cut mine down for trailer sailing (9' beam). (search previous threads on this board or my alias)
SC15Av8or
Professional
Boat Make/Model: SC15 / SC19

Post by SC15Av8or »