New SC17 owner

General Sailing Discussion
genofleet119
Novice
Boat Make/Model: SC17

New SC17 owner

Post by genofleet119 »

Greetings SC community-I am a novice sailer and owner of a second hand SuperCat 17. I sail with Fleet 119 out of Angola , New York.I have 2 question areas.
a. I am in need of advice/assistance in rigging specifically the jib, jib tensioning and rigging of the roller furling assembly. With some help, I got the mast raised and the forestay attached but feel something I am missing a pigtail and/or more needs to be done to tension correctly. I note in the parts diagram for the 17- there are what appears to be 2 separate forestay assemblies. One for a roller furling and with just a shackle and chainplate. I have a roller furling system but dont have the same parts as that in the diagram. Am i correct that there are 2 versions shown?
b. I previously owned a Hobie 16 and still have the Harken main blocks that has nice snap shackles for both the upper and lower connections. Can I use the previous 16 blocks on the SC17?
Any tips/advice whether or not you have answers to my question will be taken to heart as a quick reading of the community posts prove this is an experienced crowd.
GeneA.
gahamby
Professional
Boat Make/Model: SuperCat 15#315

Re: New SC17 owner

Post by gahamby »

My roller furler has a short pigtail that goes between the the swivel and the mast hound. I rig a 6:1 main sheet. No reason not to re-use the blocks if they give you the proper advantage.
Matt Haberman
Administrator

Post by Matt Haberman »

Hello Genofleet119,