SC 17 Asymmetric Weather / Lee Helm

Technical discussion of ARC products
kclo4
Novice
Boat Make/Model: Supercat 17

SC 17 Asymmetric Weather / Lee Helm

Post by kclo4 »

Hi all, I have read the thread by T Peterson on the exact topic and will refer to it, but I figured I would start a new one since this is a different user and boat.

I have a fairly new to me SC 17, I believe the marking on the starboard hull indicates it's a 1981. I am also pretty new to sailing with only something like 7 months experience, starting on a 20ft keel boat, but are partnered in the boat with an experienced sailor.

We are experiencing pretty significant weather helm on a starboard tack with light lee helm on port, pretty much exactly as T Peterson describes but I suspect our starboard weather helm is more significant.

Things that have already been done:
1. The starboard rudder had significant play at the roller stop side as well as the pivot bolt. I built up a layer of epoxy on the roller side and drilled out the pivot hole and installed a bronze bushing with 5/16" ID. There is some slop at the top but it's minimal now. Really it looks like the pivot bolt is in the wrong location preventing the rollers from engaging fully and I may press the bearing out, fill the hole and start over.
The port rudder had less slop in both areas. They both appear to rake under the transom with light rearward pressure applied. I believe I have the side to side slop within each casting under control.

2. I believe the shrouds and bridle wires are the same length. I measured them for replacement while the boat was on it's side. I don't know if I did it perfect but certainly within 1/4".