Introduction

General Sailing Discussion
GeneHacker
Hot Shot
Boat Make/Model: SuperCat 20

Introduction

Post by GeneHacker »

I have been sailing for several years, first on a H14 then a H18. I have been looking for a Super Cat for a few years and this past week good deal on one near Sacramento CA. After seeing Team Oracle USA tie up to 8 and 8 we ended up dropping everything and making the journey up to the bay area. After the amazing race and party we headed over and got a good look at the SC20 and made arrangements to pick it up over the weekend (then drove home and got home after 3am....but totally worth it). What a great day...got to watch one of the greatest sail boat races of all time, then go strike a deal for my new beachcat!

The 1979 SC20 was completely covered in moss, the tramp, hulls, lines, even the tires. But after a good cleaning she is actually in very good condition. It doesn't look she has seen much use. I am very excited.

I live near Lake Isabella CA which is very windy, which I think this boat will be perfect for.

This past summer I did the Frenchy's Rum Run race to Anacapa Island on the H18...the SC20 looks like a great boat for that type of racing. Anyhow I wanted to introduce myself. I will likely have a lot questions in the coming weeks as I find the time to get the old cat back together and up to her formal glory.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by GeneHacker on October 1st, 2013, 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kevin Keller
Professional
Boat Make/Model: SC-20, ARC22

Re: Introduction

Post by Kevin Keller »

Do you need any parts? I have a nice tramp with beer holders installed.

Kevin
GeneHacker
Hot Shot

Post by GeneHacker »

Hey Kevin, the tramp looks serviceable. I am hoping to be able get a couple seasons out of it anyhow.

A lot of the running rigging is not in very good shape (jib sheets, bungy, and rudder lines).